Recipes

Sometimes You Feel Like a Chef; Sometimes You Don’t.

There are few things I enjoy more than cooking a delicious recipe for my family. They almost always enjoy the things I find or come up with. I’ve recently realized something important about myself, though. Sometimes, I just don’t want to cook. It’s too hot in our house to justify using the oven in the summer—especially since the hottest part of the day comes just when I’m starting to think of dinner. Sometimes, my hands are just too full with a fussy baby (or two). More often, I am just feeling lazy.

I am my laziest first thing in the morning. Now that the baby is here, and I’m only getting broken hours of sleep, it’s even more true. Everyone has been eating a lot of cereal, toast and occasionally oatmeal these days. Basically, all things that can be fixed quickly and eaten in front of the TV while the fog of sleep finishes creeping away.

Inspiration hit 2 days ago when I was staring down 2 dozen eggs that I needed to use.

DSC09200

On the top right you see my Sausage Pancake Bites. On the top left is my new “Egg Muffins.” They aren’t really new around here. (See recipe below). There were also mini muffins at one point, but they were eaten before I got a chance to take a picture.

Anyway, the point is, I took advantage of a cool (ish) night and turned on the oven. I made a bunch of these muffin things and FROZE them. Now, we can pull out what we want and have a fancy breakfast without too much effort or heating up the house! YAY!

Egg Muffin Recipe

Ingredients

1 dozen eggs (I have a 12-muffin pan. In general, it works out to 1 large egg per muffin tin)
Salt to taste
Fillings (for the Egg Muffins above, I used diced mushrooms, crumbled feta, parsley and basil. This is a great, savory, grown-up Egg Muffin. For the kids, I usually just load the eggs up with shredded cheddar. Onions, spinach leaves, and tomatoes all go well in eggs too)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Beat eggs in a medium bowl. Add salt and spices.
  3. Pour into greased muffin tins.
  4. Add toppings. (I don’t mix them in the bowl because heavy ingredients fall to the bottom and the Egg Muffins end up unevenly “filled.”)
  5. Bake 13-15 minutes depending on your oven.
  6. Remove from oven. Let cool. The eggs will be puffy when they first come out and then fall. Don’t worry. That’s normal.
  7. Freeze.
  8. When reheating, use defrost or they will be rubbery.

Enjoy! I hope this so-simple-I-should-have-thought-of-it-sooner tip helps you out too.

Leave a Reply

