Recipes

Recipe: Sausage Pancakes

DSC08228

This is an idea that has been floating around Pinterest recently. I grabbed up the recipe and got down to making a homemade version of the pancake & sausage corndogs sold by Jimmy Dean. They are delicious, but expensive for such a simple breakfast item.

on a stick

Finally, some genius figured out how simple these were to make at home! I’d love to say it was me…but it wasn’t.

I took the recipe and tweaked it some, so the recipe here is all mine. That being said here’s the link to the original recipe, if you’re interested.

*Note: I originally used whatever I had on hand which included maple pork sausage. While we love to eat that sausage, it didn’t provide enough of a contrast of flavors when paired with the pancake batter and syrup. Use a saltier sausage.

Ingredients:

1 c. Bisquick baking mix (I actually use the Aldi equivalent-Baker’s Corner)
1 egg
2/3 c. milk
1/3 c. syrup
1/2 lb sausage, formed into 12 bite-sized balls and cooked (the original recipe suggests sausage links, but I didn’t enjoy having the texture of the cooked casing inside)

1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease pan. (This recipe makes 12 regular muffins or 24 min-muffins).
2. Pour batter evenly into cups. They will be filled 1/3 to 1/2 way.
3. Place sausage in each cup. Bake 12-14 minutes until the batter is golden brown.

**Note: for regular muffins, more batter will be required to completely cover tops. After testing, we found that to be too much pancake and not enough sausage!
***Also, if you’re like me and want a big taste contrast, just a dash of sea salt on top of the muffin makes the flavors really pop.

So, there you have it!

Muffin close-up

Muffin close-up

I hope you love them as much as we do. I made 24 regular-sized muffins and froze half by placing two muffins in a plastic bag and then dumping them all in a gallon-sized freezer bag.

I have a ton of recipes to try this week. So, more coming soon, hopefully.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Sausage Pancakes

  1. I made my first batch of these and muffin-style Sriracha omelettes for Jordan yesterday and received an enthusiastic vote of approval on both this morning! The sweet taste of success! He was able to get out the door in 5 minutes and had a full belly to start the day. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

Leave a Reply

