Recipes

Frozen Breakfast Burrito Recipe

Pretty Burritos

Aren’t they beautiful? Fat little frozen burritos of happiness, I assure you!

Breakfast is my least favorite meal of the day for two reasons:
1. I am pregnant and still get morning sickness. (Even when I’m not sick, I prefer to wake up slowly, but my crew wakes up ravenous).
2. I don’t really like breakfast food. It’s too heavy for me in the morning. As a result, I don’t really like cooking those foods in the morning.

This pregnancy has made breakfast especially difficult. I need to eat but I’m too sick to cook. Cub is hungry but really needs cuddle time or he fusses in the morning, and I’m lazy. Things like the Sausage Pancakes I posted last week were the first step in solving this problem. Pop those suckers in the microwave and there’s a filling, healthy meal ready-to-go with no fuss from me.

Here’s another recipe in the same vein.

Breakfast Burritos–
Ingredients:

Burrito Ingredients

1 lb. pork sausage
1 package hash browns
1-2 bell peppers *optional
10 large eggs
1/4 cup milk
1/2 to 1 package shredded cheese (use any kind you prefer. We use cheddar but it doesn’t matter)
salt and pepper to taste
16 flour tortillas, medium (final number will vary depending on how much you put into each)

Burrito Size:
Burrito Size

Directions:

1. In a very large skillet, brown sausage-drain on paper towel. Leave drippings in skillet for the hash browns.

2. Cook hash browns according to the package in the same pan. While the hash browns cook, whisk together the eggs, milk, salt and pepper.
Burrito Step 2

3. Add the sausage and eggs into the pan with the cooked hash browns. (My skillet was too small, so I had to cook it in two stages. Not too bad but annoying). Cook until eggs are done, adding bell peppers when eggs are nearly cooked to prevent them from being soggy.
Burrito Step 3

4.  At this point, I divided the batter to suit our varied family tastes–more on that at the bottom of the page if you’re interested.
Burrito Variation

5. You’re going to think I’m crazy, but I have played with this several times and found that 1/3 cup of filler makes the perfect burrito. So, lay out your tortilla on the counter, scoop 1/3 cup of filler onto it, top with cheese and wrap.

Burrito Wrapping (2)

I’m not going to lie, it’s tricky to get the wrapping down. Detailed instructions on that here. Basically, don’t put the fill dead-center and keep tucking in the points.

6. Place burritos, two at a time, in a small plastic bag. Then, place the small bags in a gallon-sized storage bag.

Burrito Stack

Not pictured: the burritos the boys & I devoured for lunch.

Since I made 3 varieties, I also took the time to label the small bags with a Sharpie
Varieties

On the large bag, I wrote out the heating directions. They’re a little fussy, but nothing compared to frying bacon.
Heating Directions

7. To heat, remove from bags, wrap burrito, one at a time, in a paper towel and microwave for 45 seconds, turn and microwave an additional 30 seconds. Repeat for second burrito. (Slight variation of above directions). Serve with sour cream and/or hot sauce.

*Next batch I plan to make a more Southwest feel by adding black beans and onion while taking out some egg. I also plan to try a bacon burrito.

There you have it! Below is information about recipe variations from a single batch and the cost breakdown.

Variations:
From this batch, I made 3 variations: Sausage, egg & cheese; Sausage, egg, cheese & bell pepper; and Sausage, egg and bell pepper.

I did this because my boys don’t like peppers, I don’t like cheese, and my husband likes everything.

I didn’t add any work though!

As I mentioned, my skillet is too small to fit all the ingredients at once, so when I added the eggs and sausage to the hash browns, I simply put the bell peppers in with the first batch. As I cooked the second batch, I left out the peppers. Simple! Then when wrapping, I added cheese to all but 6 of the ones with bell peppers and stacked them all separately.

Cost:
Note-I include the prices for Aldi ingredients. It’s where we shop.

Tortillas            .99 (x2)
Hash Browns 1.69
Peppers             .66 (2/3 of .99)-3 for .99
Cheese             1.64 (1/2 of 3.29)
Eggs                 1.26 (1/3 of 3.84)-30 for 3.84
Sausage           2.49
Total               9.72

I made 16 burritos which works out to $0.61 per burrito!

Leave a comment