Recipes

Recipe Monday: Classic, Peanut-Free, From-Scratch Brownies!

I like to be very descriptive in my titles, you see. That way there’s no mystery because no matter what people say, surprises are not fun…Anyway.

I’m positive from-scratch brownies are far cheaper than the pre-boxed kind, though I don’t intend on doing the math. The truth is, I simply prefer to make things from scratch. I like the control. Plus, I will still be able to make fun treats (like brownies) if there is an apocalyptic-type event which my family and I survive. Oh, fun fact–I also learned that I cannot take a good photo of baked brownies. Apparently my camera finds all those mini air pockets very distracting.

Bonus: This recipe can also be pre-mixed and stored in mason jars/storage bags for the convenience of boxed mixes. (Just leave out the wet ingredients and add those right before baking…just like boxed mixes).

Moving on from complete randomness to: The Recipe.

ed ingredients

 

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder

2 large eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Combine dry ingredients in large bowl.

combine dry

 

3. Add wet ingredients to dry.

add wet

 

4. Mix well and pour into a greased pan.

pour in pan

 

If you’re lucky to have a perfect brownie pan, use that!

perfect pan

 

5. Bake for 20-25 minutes depending on your oven.

6. Enjoy!

brownies 001

 

Delicious, fluffy and moist. My only regret is not tossing in some white chocolate chips. Oh well, there’s always next time.

Leave a comment