DIY, Money Savers

Fabric Softener

After reading about the DIY laundry soap, my step mom went out and not only made her own (!) but also found this great site , Hillbilly Housewife, full of do-it-yourself recipes. I’m going post different recipes I’m going to try first hand, then come back and let you all know how it went!

First up: Fabric Softener.

In my search for all things made at home, I heard a few rumors about fabric softener that were unsettling. The first is that fabric softener (liquid in the wash or dryer sheets) can cause an invisible film build up on your dryer vent screen, so even when you pull of the fluffy stuff, your vent still might not allow enough air to pass through. This can lead to fires! An easy way to check your dryer vent is to simply run water over it. If the water can pass through, then so can air. If not, scrub it with an oil-busting soap like Dawn.

I also heard that research is beginning to show that fabric softeners now contain many carcinogens which are released into the home when heated in the dryer. I cannot confirm this, and I do no intend to scare anyone, but it spurred me into action. Cancer is all over both sides of my family lineage in varying forms. I’ll do just about anything reasonable to reduce my family’s risks.

Ok, so with all that in mind and the great new site, I found this recipe that I’m going to try:

Homemade Fabric Softener

  • 2 cups cheap hair conditioner
  • 3 cups white vinegar
  • 6 cups warm water

I have kept old fabric softener sheets that I intend to soak in the mixture, because I’m terrible about adding things in the rinse cycle and the Downy ball never worked for me.

I happen to have all these ingredients around the house so I hope to get to it today. I’ll let you know how it goes!

3 thoughts on “Fabric Softener

Leave a Reply

