Preschool at Home

Preschool at Home: The Letter Book

It’s been a while since I posted any ideas for Preschool at home. Sorry about that. Here’s the latest one we love, love, love.

Have you seen the store-bought dry-erase letter books?
dr1 de2They are pretty, but can be expensive. The ones that aren’t expensive are either too small or poorly made and hard to erase. Regardless, I’ve never liked them very much. My little guy, however, has been working on his letters and loving it, so I wanted to indulge his artistic side and give him something to draw on.

I started by gathering simple supplies we had laying around the house: an unused binder, sheet protectors, and printer paper.

6

Then, on the paper, I drew a big, block-style capital and lower case letter. (L is pictured but of course, we had the whole alphabet by the end.)

2

This allows Cub to get the basic movements of the letter down. In the beginning, he would sit on my lap and I would guide the marker around the letters with him, but he can do most on his own now. See how proud he is!

On the reverse-side of the sheet, I divide the paper into two sections. On the top, the letter is written smaller. 5 capital Ls and 5 lower case. This is done to improve fine motor control and get Cub really familiar with the new letter.

3

On the bottom, I create a letter search by mixing 5 Ls in with various other letters and ask him to find the Ls. Again, at first he was sitting on my lap doing this. For a while, I would have to go through each letter and say “Is this an L?” and he would answer “yes” or “no” and I would help him circle the letters we were looking for. Now he’ll tell you he’s “too big for that.”

54

Which is a pretty cool thing.

Of course, the pages go into the sheet protectors and into the binder. Add some dry-erase markers and it’s a letter party.

We covered one letter per week with the help of the Story Bots (click on picture below to go to the YouTube StoryBot site), and it has been amazing to watch Cub’s growth and see his particular strengths arise. While he struggles a bit with naming all the letters, his fine motor skills and ability to trace and find them at this stage is beyond any of my expectations.

Learning the practical, easy (and cheap) way is always nice.

story bots

Leave a Reply

