DIY, Money Savers / You Have To Try This

DIY 3-Ingredient Deodorant. Paraben-Free, just $0.13 per STICK!

By now, you know I am a big believer in DIY. From laundry detergent and fabric softener to wipes and nursing tops, I DIY as much as possible. So, when I heard that the a chemical in most store-brand deodorants and antiperspirants (paraben) had been linked to cancer, I started researching the possibility of making my own deodorant.

Not only did I find a recipe that is super-easy to make, paraben-free and cheap, but it is much, much more effective than the store-brand deodorants I have been paying top dollar for.

You see, I’ll let you in on a little secret. I sweat a lot. Much more than other women, apparently. I never realized how much it affected my life until I started examining the possibility of switching to this homemade deodorant.

1. I only wore shirts with sleeves or tanks with cardigans. Skin on skin contact was avoided as much as humanly possible.

2. I used to spend half of my shower/bath time trying to get rid of the lingering smell left behind from used up deodorants.

I am happy to report that both of those are things of the past now.

For the first time in my memory, I wore a tank top out of the house in July heat the other day and I wasn’t embarrassed. No odor. No sweat marks. No kidding.

So, here it is–my DIY Deodorant Recipe.

DSC09127Ingredients:

1/4 cup Baking Soda
1/4 cup Cornstarch
Approximately 3 tsp. Coconut Oil

1 empty deodorant container (Can also be stored in a simple jar and applied with fingers)

Directions:

  1. Wash out deodorant container-including the spokes of the plastic insert
    DSC09125
  2. Combine Baking Soda and Cornstarch. (It feels really cool.)
    DSC09124
  3. Add in Coconut 1 teaspoon at a time and mix completely until you achieve the desired texture.
    DSC09126
  4. Form into deodorant dispenser.

A Few Tips

-Coconut oil is fickle. Above 76 degrees it’s a solid, below it’s a liquid. So if your bathroom is small and gets very warm, or if you plan to travel, take precautions to keep it cool.

-Some online recipes suggest adding scents–I didn’t find any need. This mixture has a pleasant, clean smell similar to baby power, but not as sweet.

-Again some recipes suggest using baby powder instead of cornstarch. However, further research lists talc (the main ingredient in baby powder) to be a known carcinogen. That completely defeats the purpose of what I set out to do.

Cost Breakdown

1.00  Baking Soda—-   .01 per tsp
2.50 Cornstarch—–    .03 per tsp
5.68 Coconut Oil—–   .09 per batch
.13 per batch

More Info on Parabens in cosmetics.

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2012/05/24/parabens-on-risk-of-breast-cancer.aspx

http://cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Risk/AP-Deo

Whether you do it for the cost or to get away from the chemicals, this DIY Deodorant is a keeper!

7 thoughts on “DIY 3-Ingredient Deodorant. Paraben-Free, just $0.13 per STICK!

  1. Pingback: Breast Cancer Diagnosis & Do It Yourself 3 Ingredient Natural Deodorant

  2. Cool article – I’ve never tried to make my own deodorant before!

    I use Lavilin (www.lavilin.com), which I really like. Do you ever use all-natural brands?

Leave a Reply

