Baby #3

So, We Had a Baby

That’s right. On May 23, 2013, we welcomed our little girl, our Pixie Baby to the fold. She was 6 pounds, 6 ounces and 18.5 inches long. Not only was she 2 weeks and a day early, she is significantly smaller and fairer than any of the other children born in recent family history. Even our very blonde Cub was born with a thick coat of dark hair.

Pixie, by contrast, is a strawberry blonde. And itty-bitty. It makes me smile. My family has very strong genetic traits that show through on all the kiddos. No matter who has married in, the babies always end up fair skinned and blue-eyed. Upon seeing our baby girl, my husband said, “Can’t just one of our kids look like me?”

It made me smile, but in all seriousness–no.

When the boys met her their reactions were priceless. J was as sweet and loving and excited as he has been all along. Cub, on the other hand was too freaked out by the large crowd of visitors and my IV/hospital setup to notice her at all for a while. After about 10 minutes, he pointed at me and said, “What’s that?” Mind you, I’d been holding her the entire time. I could only chuckle and tell him it was his sister to which he replied, “She popped out?” After that he slowly got closer to her, though it did take four days for him to hold her. Now he and J are fighting for a chance to hold her.

Of course, no birth story is without some drama, but I think I will save that for another day. For now, I’m still just reveling in the fact that she is here. She is safe, and she is beautifully and beautifully loved.

collage

One thought on “So, We Had a Baby

Leave a Reply

