Baby #3 / You Have To Try This

Mom Essentials: Pocket Nanny Review

Months ago, the ItzBeen Pocket Nanny came to my attention via Pinterest. Immediately, I wanted it! Now, almost 8 months later, this wonderful little invention has shown up everywhere from Mom magazines to People’s list of cool mom gadgets.

Here’s my personal review and experience with the Pocket Nanny in all it’s glory!

First of all, ordering was SUPER simple. The links on Pinterest eventually lead to Amazon where the Pocket Nanny was on sale for just over $20! Here’s a direct link for you: http://www.amazon.com/Itzbeen-Baby-Care-Timer-Blue/dp/B000MEB3GE

About a week and a half later, it arrived! (I actually ordered 2 because I gave one to my sister for her baby shower.)

DSC08907

And a shot for scale. It’s so small!DSC08909

Pros:

The inventors really thought of SO many handy little gadgets to include in this tiny timer!

  • USEFUL timers.
    As a mom–especially a first-time mom–you will be told that you have to keep track of 13,000 different things or your baby will be in mortal peril. The truth, however, is that as long as your baby is eating, sleeping and making enough diapers, nothing else really matters. In those first few weeks (the zombie, no-sleep phase), everything you need is available at the push of a button.
    –I’m currently using my miscellaneous timer to keep track of contractions.
  • Feeding switch.
    Simple way to make sure nursing moms can remember which side to go to next.
  • Lock
    The lock is a switch on the side (see picture below) that has to be unlocked before a timer can be reset. I have a 2-year-old. Enough said.
    DSC08919
  • Alarms
    Personally, I haven’t had much need for the alarm-type timers yet. However, ANY of the timers can be set to alarm anywhere from 1 to 24 hours, and all you have to do is hold the button down. This will be very helpful for medicine! Some meds are 4 hours, some are 6…it can be overwhelming to keep track of. This will be a lifesaver very soon. If you feed on a schedule instead of on demand, it would be super handy too.
    DSC08916
  • Nightlight
    DSC08911
  • Backlighting
    Really great for checking the time without disturbing a little one.
    DSC08912
  • Alarm silencer
    This allows you to turn off the noise for the alarm (though it isn’t annoying or loud like an alarm clock). You are instead signaled by the button lighting up.
    DSC08917

As you can see, I LOVE this thing. I used it when we kept my nieces for diaper changes and naps and timeouts. I use it now to keep a handle on these contractions–important when trying to stave off preterm labor, but there are a couple of drawbacks.

Cons:

  • It’s tiny.
    DSC08910
    As much as I love the size, and as much as I know it’s designed to be fit for a “pocket,” I also know I’ve misplaced it around the house. Twice.
  • The Clip Broke.
    DSC08920This happened on Day 2. No, it didn’t just detach. The plastic on the clip broke. To be honest, I didn’t really clip it to anything to start with, but it would have been nice to have that option come diaper bag time.
  • Bright Light
    DSC08911The nightlight is a great feature, but I hate the blue of the LED light and think it’s a bit too bright (think small flashlight instead of nightlight) for baby. However, it makes a great middle-of-the-night pacifier finder!

There it is: my opinion of the Pocket Nanny. I say, buy one. Buy one for you and for any expecting mothers you know. Unlike fancy phone apps, you don’t have to chart anything, you don’t have to click through to anything, you just press a button. And it’s glorious!

One thought on “Mom Essentials: Pocket Nanny Review

Leave a Reply

