Baby #3

Music for the Delivery Room

Now that we have come through an unsettling, anxiety-riddled week with Baby Girl, my brain is functioning again. I am able to concentrate on things like: buying last minute necessities, preparing a few frozen meals for the weeks after birth, and FINALLY getting my music together for the delivery room.

The importance of music is hard for me to explain. Here’s the best I could come up with.

The right song

(I actually made that!)

Anyway, there are some songs, some artists that can heal my heart, restore my faith in people, and reaffirm my faith in God. They usually aren’t the ones filled with cheesy, feel-better lyrics, but rather the ones where the music is so beautiful, the chords so perfectly executed that it makes me ache. Of course, the words matter too.

Regardless, music is important to me–in case you hadn’t gathered that–and I knew I’d want something comforting for labor. With Cub, my music never worked, and I really missed it. Especially since I’d used singing (the soundtrack of RENT) to regulate my breathing with J.

So, to prevent similar mishaps, I purchased an album from iTunes for the first time in YEARS, made a playlist with a few other favorites and burned an actual CD! It all felt very high school.

Still, I’m super excited. The music is all very calm and stunning. I’m really looking forward to it!

Here are some of my favorite tracks & why I love them.

“The Best Part”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S7hrjt-XRMA
-Haunting vocals and a simple, powerful message: “Love is the best part. And even if, it all fall apart your love is the best part. Love is the best part.”

“All I’m Asking”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOY16Illz4o
-Lovely harmony. Favorite line: “Your hair reminds me of sugar and cane. Your eyes shine brighter the sunniest days.”

“Now That I’ve Found You”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZYAyr3-B38
-Great song about normal life. “All my life, I have been so scared. And I never knew why I never wanted you there…but now that I’ve found you, now that I’ve got you. I’ve got everything my dear. …I love you sleepin’ with your socks on. And I love your laughter in our house. And I love your smile in the morning. And I love your head upon my chest.”

“Flightless Bird”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxAJ8_xYpJo

“Turning Page”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKBfsz3P7Us
-Maybe my favorite love song ever. Great piano. Lyrics: “Nothing prepared me for what the privilege of being yours would do. If I had only felt the warmth within your touch. If I had only seen how you smile when you blush. Or how you curl your lip when you concentrate enough, oh I would have known what I’ve been living for all along. What I’ve been living for. …I surrender who I am to who you are. For nothing makes me stronger than your fragile heart. If I had only felt how it feels to be yours, I would’ve know what I’ve been living for.”

Surrounded by love and beauty. That’s how every child should enter the world.

Leave a Reply

