DIY, Money Savers

DIY Carpet Powder

DSC08903

Unlike other DIY posts, I didn’t make this “recipe” to save money. Carpet cleaner is pretty cheap. This was purely a discovery of necessity. My niece was semi-potty training while at our house, and multiple accidents are to be expected. In our fully carpeted house, so is a fairly strong urine smell on those days.

Normal carpet cleaners weren’t doing the trick. Not even the ones with baking soda added. As soon as the choking flowery smell died down, we could still smell the pee. So I gave this a try.

It worked wonders! Well enough for me to post it here for you guys and recommend you use it.

That container is an empty Parmesan cheese container and is perfect for this.

**The recipe I was working with said 1/4 cup of the 2 main ingredients, but I discovered my container holds more, so I’m putting that in the recipe below.

Ingredients:
1 cup Baking Soda
1 cup Borax
3 Tablespoons of any ground spice.

Directions:
Sprinkle on. Leave for at least 15 minutes before vacuuming. Leave longer for stronger smells. It can be left overnight, but Borax is toxic to pets so make sure they can’t get to it.

I used cloves the first time because they are my FAVORITE smelling spice, and I usually only get to use them in pumpkin pie. Cinnamon and Nutmeg would be good choices for that warm-baked-good smell too. If you try another spice let me know how it turns out!

Cost: 
Baking soda       .40           (1 box, $1 =2 1/2 cups)
Borax                  .30           (1 box, $3.35= 11 cups)
Spice                   varies

About                  .90

One thought on “DIY Carpet Powder

Leave a Reply

