Recipes

Snickerdoodle Bread. A Recipe to Start Your Week.

I love snickerdoodle cookies. I think they are the perfect amount of sweet, so when I saw this post  for snickerdoodle bread, I knew I’d have to make it.

DSC08877

I know you want to make some too, so here is my take on the recipe.

Ingredients: 

2 1/2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup sour cream
1 package of toffee chips (Heath are not only toffee but PEANUT FREE!)

Topping
3 Tablespoons sugar
2 Tablespoons cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Cream salt, cinnamon, butter, and sugar together until fluffy.
  2. Add eggs, mix well.
  3. Add vanilla and sour cream.
  4. In a separate, large bowl, combine flour and baking powder. Mix well.
  5. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until all combined.
  6. Stir in chips.
  7. Put in 4-loaf pans (I have one that has 4 all connected, but if you don’t, any 4 loaf pans will work).
  8. Mix Topping sugar and cinnamon in separate bowl and coat each loaf.
  9. Bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.

The original directions say to let it cool completely before removing. Just keep in mind that bread in a warm pan will continue to cook. It dried out my bread on the first try. So, either reduce the cook time or remove before completely cooled.

DSC08880This bread is DELICIOUS and a crowd-pleaser! We ate it for breakfast 3 days in a row. ALL of us. That’s my husband, who professes he doesn’t like “anything baked unless it’s chocolate,” a 7 year old, two 2 year olds, and picky/pregnant me!

It’s perfect for breakfast–sweet but not too heavy–and for dessert.

P.S. I did manage to bake this bread while knee-deep in kids (ages 7, 2, 2, and 5 weeks) by making 2 crucial decisions:

  1. I put J to work. He loves to cook, so it worked out, but even when I was doing things he couldn’t do, he was at work helping the littles.
  2. I had the littles pretending to bake right along side us.

DSC08874

They had spare measuring cups, mixing bowls, and spatulas that they used to mix flour, salt, sprinkles and the pretend insides of their very own eggs (left over from Easter). It was SUPER messy and ABSOLUTELY worth it.

Just before I loaded the “Doodle Bread” into the oven, I had them combine their…creations in a separate loaf pan and took it into the kitchen at the same time so they really believed they made a loaf too! It was great to see the excitement on their faces when I served the bread we ALL made.

Leave a Reply

