Recipes

Crock Pot Chicken Cordon Bleu

Two notes:

First, I have been saving up recipes to post every Monday, but this one was simply too good to wait on.

Second, I’m sorry if all the fancy-edited photos annoy you, but I suck at taking pictures and the lighting is kind of terrible in my house, so it is what is is. Anyway, on to the recipe!

zoomed out paSta

This recipe was inspired by the blog Chef in Training. This girl posts some amazing-sounding things, but I’m a pregnant mom with two kids, so I don’t always have time for the fancy stuff. Plus, I like my Alfredo sauce recipe and so does my husband, so I  stuck with that.

For the record, this recipe was 100 percent experimental. I had no idea if from-scratch alfredo sauce would work in a crock pot. (There was a decent chance the sauce would separate or curdle). But, I forged ahead. The result was amazing. Yes, I know that’s immodest, but it’s true.

Ingredients:
1 pkg boneless skinless chicken breast (1-2 lbs), cubed
1 cup pre-cooked ham, diced
3 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic (this seemed heavier when stewing for 3 hours, so reduce if you aren’t huge on garlic)
2 cups heavy cream
1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 cup Parmesan (grated, sliced-I’ve found any kind works)
3/4 cup Mozzarella (sometimes I use 1/2 cup Mozzarella with 1/4 cup Romano cheese)

1 lb pasta (penne or small shells will grab the most sauce)

*Garnish-bread crumbs, parsley

Usually, the alfredo sauce requires quite a bit of babysitting, that’s why I wanted to try the crock pot!  So, here’s the deal–

Directions:

1. Dice/cube meat.

2. Add all ingredients (except garnish and noodles) to crock pot.

3. Stir.

4. Set on high. Cook on high 3 hours.

crockpot

5. Cook noodles as directed. Drain.

Noodles

That’s it. Since I was experimenting, I ended up stirring it about once an hour when I checked on it, but it seems totally unnecessary. Don’t freak if the oil separates out. That is totally normal even when making Alfredo on the stove. It gets absorbed by the noodles. 

You have two choices at this point: either serve over dry noodles (my preference)
zoomed pasta

or mix it all together and serve(my boys’ preference)
crockpot

Regardless, top with just a bit of bread crumbs and parsley on top.

Here’s maybe the best news: I also served this up with some butter bread as a crowd pleaser for the minions. J eats butter bread like it’s candy, but tonight he ate every bite of the noodles and left this:
bread

Those of you who know us get how big of a deal that is.

I honestly don’t know the cost on this. I’m guesstimating here:
Chicken-$4
Ham-$3 (I only used half the rest will be for sandwiches), so $1.50
Heavy cream-$1.60
Cheeses-$3
Total-$10.10 (10 servings at least).

That’s all for now. Make this. Trust me–it’s awesome.

One thought on “Crock Pot Chicken Cordon Bleu

Leave a Reply

