DIY, Money Savers

Awesome, Super Simple, Homemade Silver Cleaner

First things first, I posted an update on the All Things Baby Page if you’re wanting to head over there too.

On to Silver Polish.

DSC08029

So two weeks ago I headed to Goodwill in search of some little containers to use for the oils I’ve been making. Well, I caught Goodwill on a randomly awesome day-Household goods were 1/2 off! I love me a bargain. Suddenly the $8 and change I’d brought with me became nearly a fortune.

I won’t list all the great finds I got for only $7.50, I will only tell you I found a gorgeous, sterling silver food warmer. It is kersosene-powered, and something I’ve never seen before. Truth be told, I don’t have much need for this thing, but it was only $4 and I figured I could use it when I host an evening of friends in the future. I am also considering using it as a scent diffuser for melted oil cubes.

Anyway it wasn’t in great shape, but I knew with a little TLC it would be a great piece for our home.

Today I found this simple recipe for a homemade cleaner and decided to give it a shot since I had all 3 necessary things in my kitchen already. I knew you’d appreciate the info since this is gentle enough to be used on jewelry as well as dishes, etc.

I did adjust the recipe for the large pot I used. Basically, use 2 parts Baking Soda for every 1 part salt. Other recipes are slightly different, but this worked great!

Here it goes:

1/4 cup Baking Soda
1/8 cup salt
 (just regular iodized salt)
1 piece aluminum foil

Directions:

1. Cut a piece of aluminum foil large enough to basically cover the bottom of the container. It doesn’t have to be perfect.
2. Add Baking Soda and Salt
3. Bring water to a light boil.
4. Turn off heat but leave pot on burner. 
(Trial and error showed me it works best when very warm but not boiling).
5. Lay silver inside and use tongs or ladle to remove once you see the silver lighten.

DSC08027
6. Wash in sudsy water, rinse and towel dry.

The longer you leave it, the shinier it gets.

DSC08030

Apparently there is some wax on the bottom I need to scrap off, but you can definitely see the difference!

2

Leave a Reply

