DIY, Money Savers

Home Remedies

Long story short, my joints are crap. It’s painful most of the time, but nearly intolerable during pregnancy. It’s especially complicated by the fact that pain relief options are limited during pregnancy. Due to all of this, I have been looking into Folk Remedies and some simple Herbal Remedies.

healing

A few months ago, I found this great book for next to nothing at Barnes & Noble. I hadn’t used it, but I found it again last night, and started searching through with curiosity that bordered on desperation. My hip had been out of socket all day (extremely painful) and my knee had some fluid swelling behind the knee-cap which resulted in pain and a gross crackling noise whenever I moved.

Since acetaminophen wasn’t touching the pain, I figured I had nothing to lose. The first “recipe” I found related to joint discomfort described so much of what I needed: warming relief, treatment for swelling, and joint pain relief.

Bonus* I had all the ingredients on hand!

Cayenne Pepper

1 Tablespoon Cayenne Pepper

ginger

2 Tablespoons Powdered Ginger

mustard seed

2 Teaspoons Powdered Mustard Seed

sunflower oil

1 Cup Sunflower Oil (Can also be unblended vegetable oil or grapeseed oil).

The process for making the oil isn’t terribly simple, but I was willing to try anything…plus Hubby was working until midnight so I had nothing else to do.

-First half of the herbs are placed into a pan with the oil.
-Next place the pan in a water bath and simmer gently for 2 hours. (Do not use direct heat. It may burn the oil).
-Strain and return infused oil to the pan. (It should be slightly red from picking up the essential properties of the herbs).
-Discard the used herbs.
-Put remaining 1/2 of herbs in pan with oil.
-Return to water bath for another hour or two.
-Strain again.
-Once cooled, pour into clean bottles, label and date.

Finished Project:

Cayenne Infused Oil 1

After I rubbed this oil into my knee and hip joints, I experienced immediate relief . And it lasted!

I am definitely asking for a back massage with this tonight!

This also gives me some hope for other home remedies. Have any of you tried homemade remedies? If so, what and how did they work–I want to hear about it all, even the disasters.

2 thoughts on “Home Remedies

Leave a Reply

