Homeschool Adventure

How Homeschooling Changed the Way I View Hobbies

I’m still a novice in the homeschooling world, but I have to say that I am so happy we made this decision. My son is already reading Step 1 readers completely independently and Stage 2 with only minimal help. In little over a month, he added 27 new sight words to his repertoire, he’s excited about math and blazing through it, and best of all, he really seems to like it too. I don’t have to worry about his safety on the bus, which was an issue last year, and I don’t have to spend the day stressing about whether or not other people are capable of understanding his peanut allergy.

All around things have been great.

Something interesting has also happened to me. I realized that I started to look at his fleeting hobbies and interests as potential careers.

It’s an interesting balance that I am finding. I I find that I want to feed his interests and give him all the information and experience he can have at his age because, who knows, a spark could be ignited. That spark could lead to his future passion, a hobby or a career that brings him great joy and fulfillment.

Now, I realize that he will pass through a million phases, or more, before he enters the work force. I also realize that he could be a drifter (like me) and never really want to pursue a career, but will rather work whatever job gets him by. I swear I’m fine with this. I just know that I have passions that were fed as a child, but cut off as I grew into an adult, and I wonder sometimes what could have been. What if there had been lessons in this or plans for that. What if I’d spent a little less money on shoes and more on pursuing my dreams?

I don’t want that for my kids. I want them to view the world as an open book. There are opportunities out there in any field, and even though the artist’s road is less traditional than the marine biologist’s doesn’t mean it is impossible. Being an artist just takes a different approach to survival-one that I’d be happy to help him learn to develop.

This is where I throw my hat in with Charlotte Mason’s philosophy, I suppose: it isn’t my job to choose what interests him, but it is my job to facilitate his learning and experiencing those things that are interesting (within reason). I’m not some nut running around planning my 6 year old’s career and there is no pressure to stay with a topic or sport when he’s ready to move on. I just know that passions usually aren’t acquired in adulthood. They rise up from our earliest selves and are carried through our entire lives in varying forms. That is a good and precious thing which should be nourished and protected. I intend to do both.

Leave a Reply

