Recipes

Finally Somthing New to Make with Ground Beef!

I know, I know. I’m such a housewife. I get really excited about things like sales on diapers and finding new recipes. That’s why you all follow this blog, though, right?

Well, anyway, I’ve been sticking to a pretty strict food budget, so our meat choices have been chicken, ground beef, fish fillets when there’s a sale, and pork (only sometimes because Hubby doesn’t care for it). But here’s the thing, chicken and ground beef can get pretty boring after a while. This has sent me digging in the far-reaches of the internet to locate new and tasty recipes to use!

Sometimes, I’m sorely disappointed by these types of scavenger hunts. If I don’t have something specific in mind, the internet can overwhelm me with unrelated data. This time, I feel like I struck gold.

Shepherd’s Pie.

Actual picture of my very first attempt at a Shepherd’s Pie.

That’s right, I tried making shepherd’s pie. Gordon Ramsey make shepherd’s pie sound like a delicacy, and the recipe is so much easier than I imagined! So, here we go:

Basically, I discovered shepherd’s pie is like those “everything in one bowl” meals from KFC. A bunch of yummy staples (ground beef, gravy, mashed potatoes, cheese and a veggie all in one scoop!

My husband, who has eaten shepherd’s pie before, says it was wonderful. I’m always a nervous wreck serving something I’ve never eaten before because then I don’t know if it tasted the way it’s supposed to, but we all really liked it (Except Stick Boy who doesn’t like potatoes, and that is weirdness that I cannot cure). In fact, we all liked it so much that there was only one serving left over and it was promptly eaten the next day for lunch by yours truly.

I have to admit, I’m still a little proud of the fact that it was gobbled up so quickly.

This recipe is super exciting because it’s EASY!

Ingredients:
1 package Instant Mashed potatoes, prepared according to box
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon Onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup Cheddar Cheese, shredded
salt and pepper to taste

1 can of either peas, corn or carrots (I used corn because I love mashed potatoes with corn.)
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 onion, chopped
1 lb ground beef
1 packet brown gravy (approximately 1/2-1 cup if using can/jar)
1/4 cup Cheddar Cheese, shredded

Directions:
1. Prepare mashed potatoes according to box. Mix in butter, finely chopped onion and 1/4 cup shredded cheese. Salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.
2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
3. Heat oil in large frying pan over medium heat. Add onion and cook until clear. Add ground beef and cook until well browned. Pour off excess fat, then stir in gravy and simmer for 5 minutes.
4. Spread the ground beef in an even layer on the bottom of a 2-quart casserole dish. Next, spread the layer of vegetables. Top with mashed potatoes, and sprinkle remaining shredded cheese.
5. Baked in preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

My only hope for next time is to try these fancy little whipped things with the potatoes.

P.S. This whole recipe cost $6.61! There were only about 6-8 servings, though, so it’s still about $1 per serving.

Leave a Reply

