Homeschool Adventure

What Else Teaching Can Be

There are so many things I want to teach my son. I want to be there when he learns to read independently. I want to watch the gears turn and lights click. I want to teach him to ask critical questions and to never fear his creativity. Eventually, I want to teach him to harness his talents and direct them in a useful way.

I really want to teach him the healing power of music. I’m not talking about a particular genre or artist, just the experience that is music.

For me, music is very nearly magic. It can say the things I feel but can’t put into words. It can take me on a therapeutic journey. It can inspire me and guide me and lead me to new experiences. It can take my breath away.

I want that for him.

I want him to have something to turn to when he feels like no one in the world understand him-not even me.

Music is loyal. It doesn’t judge, and it doesn’t carry expectations.

We could all learn a thing or two from music, and I hope I can teach my son to appreciate the gift we were given.

Love, it will not betray you,
dismay or enslave you,
It will set you free
Be more like the man
you were made to be.
There is a designer,
An alignment to cry,
At my heart you see,
The beauty of love
as it was made to be

-Mumford & Sons, “Sigh No More”

 

Leave a comment