DIY, Money Savers

DIY Dishwasher Soap Review

In keeping with my efforts to replace many of our costly cleaning supplies with simple, cheap, effective DIY recipes-I’ve been trying all the recipes I happen upon. Some work out great like the laundry soap and fabric softener. Some, not so much.

For me, the dishwasher soap falls into the latter category.

Dishwasher soaps all have the same basic ingredients, though in different amounts. Here’s the recipe I followed:

2 cups Borax, 2 cups Washing Soda, 1 cup Epsom salt, and (not pictured) 1 cup (or 3 packets) of Lemishine.

First, the citric acid (Lemishine) is apparently semi-moist, so all the recipes warn to let it sit out a while, or not to combine it right away. Even following these direction, the mixture became so clumped and hard that I had to stab it with a knife to get out my tablespoon worth of soap for a load of dishes. I have no idea what the solution would be unless the Lemishine can be added to each load separately.

The most disappointing part, however, was just how poorly this cleaned. Dishes came out with either a slight film on them or with unidentified grit. I would just attribute this to not having scrubbed well enough before putting them in, but I scrub my dishes pretty thoroughly first. The film and grim has never been an issue in the past.

Despite really wanting this one to work (you can tell because I made a lot), after 3 tries, I don’t use it.

I just have to figure out how to get it out of my jar now, so it can be used for storing other things.

I might try the Hillbilly Housewife recipe in a small amount. She substitutes the washing soda for baking soda. I’ll let you know.how that goes in a few days.

Leave a Reply

